Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

May Wright Sewall Leadership Award Dinner

August 15, 2019 @ 6:00 pm - 9:00 pm

6:00 pm

On August 15, 2019 the May Wright Sewall Leadership Award will be given to a woman who exudes the spirit of the award’s namesake. Sewall set the bar for civic engagement and leadership in Indianapolis. Her accomplishments include starting the Girls Classical School and introducing physical education for girls; founding the Indianapolis Propylaeum Club and the Indianapolis Woman’s Club, as well as the Indianapolis Art Association which would become the Indianapolis Museum of Art. Nationally Sewall was instrumental in founding the National Council of Women, fighting diligently beside Susan B. Anthony and Elizabeth Cady Stanton for a woman’s right to vote. Internationally Sewall was president of the International Congress of Women in Berlin in 1904. This year’s winner is Marianne Glick.

The event includes a cocktail hour, the presentation of the award to Marianne Glick, and 3-course dinner. The May Wright Sewall Award dinner is the kick-off to the Propylaeum’s Commemoration of the Centennial of Women’s Suffrage.

Marianne Glick
Marianne Glick founded the Executive Women’s Training Program in 1986, assisting organizations to enhance employee productivity and effectiveness. She is chairwoman of the Eugene & Marilyn Glick Family Foundation and president of the board for TeenWorks. She also serves on the boards of the Gene B. Glick Co., United Way of Central Indiana, Ivy Tech Community College, IUPUI Chancellor’s Advisory Council, Goodwill, Ascend Indiana, and Community Health Foundation. She has served as a trustee for Ball State University, Central Indiana Community Foundation, the Women’s Hospital, Big Sisters, Habitat for Humanity, Women’s Fund and Prevent Blindness Indiana.

Marianne is an accomplished artist and president and owner of GlickArt, with paintings being accepted into juried competitions and winning awards in Indiana, Michigan, Illinois, and Florida. Marianne often contributes her paintings to assist non-profit organizations, such as the Children’s Bureau, Girls Inc., Dress for Success, Planned Parenthood, United Way, and Women’s Fund. She has received the following honors: Charles L. Whistler Award 2018, Sagamore of the Wabash 2014, Michael Carroll Award, the first honorary alumni award from Ball State University, Woman of Influence 2012 by the Indianapolis Business Journal, Touchstone Award 2011 from Girls Inc., and Indiana Woman of Influence in 2010 by Ball State University.


August 15, 2019
6:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Event Categories:


LaurieAnne Wickens
3176387881 Ext. 4


Indianapolis Propylaeum
1410 North Delaware Street
Indianapolis, 46202 United States
+ Google Map
3176387881 Ext. 4
View Venue Website

Stay Up-to-date

Sign up for our newsletter to stay informed of newly announced events, news and more.

Do you have an upcoming event? Add it to our calendar.