In the news


On July 2, Governor Eric Holcomb announced several new appointments to various state boards, commissions and task forces, including the newly created Women’s Suffrage Centennial Commission. The heads of two catalyzing partners, Keira Amstutz of Indiana Humanities and Rose Wernicke of the Indianapolis Propylaeum, are among those named to the commission. 

Seven women were named to the Women’s Suffrage Centennial Commission, who will serve until June 30, 2021. They include:

  •  Keira Amstutz (Indianapolis), president & CEO of Indiana Humanities
  • Elaine Bedel (Indianapolis), president of the Indiana Economic Development Corporation
  • Kathy Cabello (Indianapolis), owner of Cabello Associates
  • Joyce Rogers (Indianapolis), vice president for development and external relations for the Office of the Vice President for Diversity, Equity, and Multicultural Affairs at Indiana University
  • Danielle Shockey (Carmel), CEO of Girl Scouts of Central Indiana
  • Judy Singleton (Indianapolis), co-founder of Singleton Associates, LLC
  • Rose Wernicke (Indianapolis), president of the Indianapolis Propylaeum

The Governor also designated Lt. Governor Suzanne Crouch to serve as chair of the commission. 

“I am continually inspired by the groundbreaking efforts women have made to ensure equality when voting,” Crouch said recently. “We are forever in their debt, because without their work, Indiana would not have such a strong force of female leaders in local and statewide positions.”

The Women’s Suffrage Centennial Commission was signed into law by Governor Holcomb on June 13, after a bill sponsored by State Rep. Sharon Negele (R-Attica) was unanimously passed by the Indiana General Assembly. 

“We owe so much to the generations of Hoosier women who came before us,” Negele said upon the signing of the bill. “They worked tirelessly to have women’s voices heard, and I am honored to play a role in creating the commission to commemorate their achievements.”